Let me tell you something about lasagna…

Today’s nutrition has been pretty awesome, yesterday’s not so much, and I am menstrual so I have to deal with cravings and bloating. BOO!

Yesterday, I started the day juicing. It was good, if I remember correctly it was kale, and orange, a carrot, and a cucumber. I can’t remember if I put the cucumber in or not. That was good. That night though, I had promised my best friend Jess I would cook something spectacular for her. I did cook something spectacular, an alfredo veggie lasagna. It was so good. I used light alfredo sauce and fat free ricotta cheese, but this thing was super decadent. The layers were alfredo sauce, noodles, veggie mixture (consisting of broccoli, tomato, and ricotta cheese) mozzarella, Repeat. It was amazingly good. Not healthy though, which I am ashamed of.  Here’s a recipe if any of you are cooks though:

Alfredo Veggie Lasagna

lasagna

Ingredients

•18 lasagna noodles

•7 cups fresh broccoli florets

•2 eggs, lightly beaten

•2 cartons (15 ounces each) ricotta cheese

•4 teaspoons Italian seasoning

•8 medium fresh tomatoes, chopped

•4 envelopes Alfredo sauce mix, divided

•6 cups (24 ounces) shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese

Directions

•Cook noodles according to package directions. Meanwhile, place broccoli in a steamer basket. Place in a large saucepan over 1 in. of water; bring to a boil. Cover and steam for 5-7 minutes or until crisp-tender.

• In a large bowl, combine the eggs, ricotta cheese and Italian seasoning; gently stir in tomatoes and broccoli. Set aside.

• Drain noodles. Prepare two envelopes of Alfredo sauce mix according to package directions. Spread 1/4 cup sauce in each of two greased 13-in. x 9-in. baking dishes. Top each with three noodles, 1 cup ricotta mixture, 1 cup mozzarella cheese and 1/4 cup sauce. Repeat layers. Top with remaining noodles, sauce and mozzarella cheese.

• Cover and freeze one lasagna for up to 3 months. Bake remaining lasagna, uncovered, at 350° for 35-40 minutes or until bubbly and edges are lightly browned. Let stand for 15 minutes before cutting. Prepare one envelope of sauce mix according to package directions; serve with lasagna.

•To use frozen lasagna: Thaw in the refrigerator overnight. Remove from the refrigerator 30 minutes before baking. Bake, uncovered, at 350° for 50-60 minutes or until bubbly and edges are lightly browned. Let stand for 15 minutes before cutting. Prepare remaining envelope of sauce mix according to package directions; serve with lasagna. Yield: 2 lasagnas (12 servings each).

Nutritional Facts 1 piece equals 243 calories, 11 g fat (6 g saturated fat), 53 mg cholesterol, 384 mg sodium, 22 g carbohydrate, 2 g fiber, 16 g protein. Diabetic Exchanges: 2 lean meat, 1-1/2 starch, 1 fat

I only made one lasagna, did not freeze one. I ate two pieces though. Sigh. And I have leftovers! Double sigh. The way I’m going to do it though, two days strict diet, third day one piece for one meal til it is gone.

On to today. Today I started the day with juice, I did the apple, white nectarine, and blueberries juice. I really enjoy that one. Drank a bottle of water. Just ate my last avocado. Here is a site with info on avocados and why I love them, besides the fact they are delicious.

http://www.fullcircle.com/goodfoodlife/2012/06/21/5-health-benefits-of-avocados/#s.ae5bghmoaaiaa

I plan on just juice the rest of the night. My juice tonight will most likely be a carrot, celery, and either orange or cucumber. Haven’t decided yet.

Besides nutrition, today has been full of physical activity. I helped move some very big pieces of furniture and took about a 2 mile walk. Pretty good. The furniture moving was hard. These pieces were gigantic and we were taking them up a very small stairwell. A very difficult move. Great upper body work out though.

This furniture....

  This furniture….

went up this stairwell...

went up this stairwell…

Stained glass in Jessie's apartment...pretty cool.

Stained glass in Jessie’s apartment…pretty cool.

 

Leave a Reply

