Mmmmmm V8….

I have been drinking the fast food of juices lately because the past couple days I have woken up late for work and go across the street to 7-11 and get V8’s. I know these are not nearly good as real juice, but when you’re in a jam, it works. I am going to make my own juices tonight though. I have been doing good with water though, drinking a couple liters a day.

Work was so dumb last night. The whole night was good until the very end. Then I get a phone call, “Water is coming out of my ceiling and light switch.” I knew immediately it was a bath tub overflowing from a higher up floor. This room was on 9, so I go to the room above them on 10.

I kind of knew it wouldn’t be that guy. He has been living there a month and his nickname is “Mr. Smelly.” He doesn’t like water he says. You can smell him from 10 feet away, and the smell lingers after he walks away. Then I know it is on 11, it is the highest floor. What is makes me cringe is I checked them in and there was voice in my head going, “Don’t check them in. They’re trouble. Tell them you’re sold out for St. Patrick’s day.” I should always listen to my inner voice.

My security guard and I start knocking. No answer. I decide to go back downstairs, call my manager and the police. The opened the door while I was on the phone with my manager. If you are not a deviant, you probably don’t know this, but people who smoke weed in hotel rooms will sometimes try to “steam” the smell out by running the shower with the bathroom door open. My security guard said when he got inside the room, the steam was thick from the ceiling to his nose, about a 3 foot cloud of steam inside the bedroom part of the room, not just the bathroom.

What happened though, they went to sleep with this shower running AND the bathtub stopper down. I already knew the room was going to be bad because if you have water leaking on other floors, that means there is water sitting there and it is pretty deep. This water made it through two floors. It was an inch deep on the bathroom floor and flowed out about 5 feet outside the bathroom. This meant I had to extract the water from the floor and the carpet, because if we just leave it sitting then it will just keep leaking through the floors. The extractor machine is HEAVY. The water fills a 5 gallon tank, which you have to keep dumping out when it is full. It filled quickly because there was so much water, so I had to keep lifting it up. On the positive side though, it was a good work out! I broke quite the sweat.

Tonight is one of the toughest nights to work in the hotel, St.Patrick’s day. Good news is I will have a manager there, two security guards, and someone to bring things to rooms. There are only three nights out of the year that it isn’t just me and a security guard, those nights are New Years Eve, Mardi Gras (bet you didn’t know St. Louis has the biggest Mardi Gras after New Orleans), and St. Patrick’s day. The fact we’re fully staffed actually makes them not the worse days of the year to work. The worst days are Cardinal Games when all of Cardinal’s Nation are in town, drunk, and it is just you and a security guard. Even during the world series I didn’t get much help. Summer is a rough time for Night Auditors.

Leave a Reply

