Orlando, Miami, and Fort Lauderdale

Just got back from an epic central Florida trip. I can not say that I was very good with food. I did make sure to have veggies with almost every meal though.

First I wanted to go to a really authentic Cuban restaurant, which we found in Orlando, called Cafe Cubano. The place was so authentic, our waitress didn’t really speak any English. Just had to point to the menu for what we wanted. I got the “Traditional Cuban” and it was yummy! Came with fries, I couldn’t really ask her for anything else because I don’t speak Spanish. Their portion was only a handful though, not a gigantic basket of them like we get in American restaurants.

Then I went to Seaworld, which was fun. The Mantra rollar coaster is so cool, flips you upside down so you’re facing the ground, like you’re the eyes on a stingray. Very neat. The aquariums were well done. Saw the Killer whales. Saw Beluga’s getting it on. Then only thing that was not cool was about 1/3 of the park seemed to be shut down, which they should really tell you since it is 89 dollars per person.

Off to the hotel, which was a Hard Rock. I love, love, love that brand. Room was amazing, service was crazy good. For dinner we went to a Miller’s Ale House. Had pot stickers, Mahi Mahi, and broccoli. Watched the Celtics vs. Heat game, which was a really good game. Had several drinks. It was overall a very good night.

The next day the weather was SO gorgeous. For breakfast I had a few pistachio’s and a couple bottles of water. Then went and lounged around the pool, also amazing at the Hard Rock. Got crazy sun burned though. Going to Florida after being in a state where the high has been 32 for the past five months meant I was really pale, and now I am really red.

Drove off to Miami. Stayed at the Hyatt Regency, which was NOT as good as the hard rock. Their housekeeping staff was amazing at their job though. On the way grabbed a very bad lunch of a Wendy’s spicy chicken, no side. The drive was sooo long. After getting to the Regency at 5 pm, we go down for appetizers at the bar. I get an avocado and tomato salad in a cumin vinegrette. It was very light and fresh, and yummy.

We then head over to the Brickell area for real dinner, which was a disaster. Went to Blue Martini and the service was so bad, the drink I ordered was good, my crab cakes and salad were very good. They got my boy’s order wrong on the first try. Then his prime rib was very bland tasting. He had to order his beer twice and what she brought over was a half full beer with a napkin wrapped around it which we’re pretty sure someone had been drinking. She tried to say, oh we just do that, but it wasn’t done to the first beer he drank….so…. gross.

Went to a greek bar, was grossed out there too. All their garnish containers had no covers on them and it was an open air bar. I just told my boy, I’m tired, because I was so downtrodden to continue on.

The next day was better though. Drove to Fort Lauderdale, where I took a very long walk after drinking two coffee’s. Then had lunch on the A1A at Cafe Casablanca which was amazing! Had a lamb sandwich with salad and it was so yummy. The service was impeccable too, wished we were staying in Fort Lauderdale over Miami.

Drove back to Miami. Got a couple Margarita’s, service was good in the afternoon. Went to the room, got dressed and picked out where we would go that night, Zuma sushi (best sushi in the world, had it last year in Miami).  Went down to the bar, and had a terrible experience. The bar was packed, and the bartenders could not handle the crowd. First drinks came out fine. Then I was thinking about it, I told my boy to call Zuma, because I bet you needed reservations. He called, they were “fully committed” for the evening. Luckily we had torn a page out of those “Where” magazines, and we called around. We called 5 restaurants before finding one that wasn’t fully committed. We ordered a second round of drinks then waited 30 minutes. Finally just left. This bar’s problem was they did not have high quality bartenders. They could serve 7 people, but not 50 which was how many were inside this bar. I was thinking, Oh no, here we go again, a terrible night in Miami.

We get a cab and go back over to the Brickell area to a restaurant called “Delores, but you can call me Lolita.” How much do you love that name? It was great. We chilled at the bar for a couple rounds. The girl working behind the bar was friendly and very sweet.  Then went upstairs and had an amazing dinner. I had a tomato, salmon, mozzarella salad and my entree’ was chicken with mashed potato’s and lots of Merlot. It was really tasty. Went back downstairs, grabbed a white chocolate banana drink, very good. Then when back to the hotel, grabbed another drink, and had a Youtube dance drunken party. Had to get up at 3:30 for my 6 AM flight though. That was painful.

That is basically the gist of my Orlando trip. If you can’t tell, I am kind of a foodie when I travel.

Now lets talk financials and how much mine suck. I have to send Suffolk University 500 dollars by April 15th. I have 204 right now. My mom is going to send me 150, which is very nice of her.  When I get paid, not this upcoming paycheck but the next one, I should be able to make the deposit. I filled out the FAFSA today, but priority was March 1st for Suffolk, but the website says that they will award need based scholarships based on how much is left after priority, which I am very need based. I only made about 19,000 dollars last year and live on my own. If there is a wealthy benefactor out there though, with 66,000 dollars just kicking around and you want to donate it to a good cause, HERE I AM!!!!!!!!!

In Juicing news, I start my 7 day fast tomorrow. I would say I’m excited but I’m not. If you can’t tell from this post, I love food. My body needs a cleanse though, so, I’m doing it for a week. Hurray….

Saw this weird car detail on my walk through Fort Lauderdale.

Saw this weird car detail on my walk through Fort Lauderdale.

Fort Lauderdale

On my walk towards the A1A in Fort Lauderdale.

 

5 thoughts on “Orlando, Miami, and Fort Lauderdale

  1. i just started my first green smoothie fast this morning, and I love food so I wonder how hard it is going to be. Good luck on your Juice Fast

  2. Good luck. The law needs you – not just the privileged males with no alternative experience. If I had the money it would be yours.

Leave a comment