Spicy Black Bean Burgers

I am in a better mood today. Thank goodness.

I have been addicted to Breaking Bad the past couple days. It is such a good show. I am glad they don’t glamorize¬†meth either, because it is a dirty drug that should be shown as the life-ruiner it is. Bryan Cranston holds the whole show up in my mind. He is absolutely amazing in the role of Walter White.

One think I think about breaking bad, because that’s what my dad was, he was a cook of meth, is that every “cook” thinks they are Walter White. They aren’t though. Every person I ever met in my life who was in the meth world, and unfortunately that was most of the adults I met growing up, they were tweakers. There aren’t Walter White’s. There aren’t people who are just concerned about the chemistry of the product. Most cooks start cooking to support their own habit. They go to prison, and they are addicts for life. Breaking Bad is great example of writing, it’s wonderfully acted in, but, it’s not reality.¬† The rural, back woods cooking on the gravel roads of Missouri, that’s real. If you want to keep a kid off meth, introduce them to a real meth head. I remember this one kid my dad sold to, he was 17, I was 13. I saw him 5 years later, no joke, the guy looked over 40. He would have been 22 and he was going nowhere. He came back to our house looking for my dad to cook, but my dad had been in prison for a few months at this point. 22 and this kids life is basically done. That’s meth. There’s nothing else to it. It takes a normal person and ruins them, so much brain damage is done they can never function properly again. Here’s a great website on the effects of meth, the permanent effects that I can vouch for, they exist, it isn’t hype. My father, from what I can remember, he can not feel pleasure like a normal person. He pursues a high to try and feel anything besides depression. He damaged the receptors in his brain to feel happiness. Oh, and his teeth, yeah, they look…like that…

http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/meth/body/

I went over to my buddy’s Abby’s last night. We took her dog for a walk, I saw her new house, we ate quiche and drank wine. Then when her husband got home, we all started a puzzle together. Got pretty far on it. Then watched some stand-up comedy. Overall, what I ate wasn’t too bad.

When I got home I ate a couple black bean burgers with spinach and mustard. Pretty yummy.

I just had another black bean burger now. I like them quite a bit. After watching a ton more Breaking Bad I may clean and do a kettle bell work out. I haven’t decided yet.

Not much else to report here. I will be juicing again when I go back to work tomorrow, though I am running pretty low on produce but I don’t want to buy any until after my LA trip.

5 thoughts on “Spicy Black Bean Burgers

  1. Hi I can honestly say I have never tried a Black bean burger as I have never heard of them. I have heard of Green juicing so that people can drink their vege’s but really!! a Black Bean burger. Perhaps you could post a recipe here so that for people like me that have never heard of it can give it a try.
    Cheers
    Dave

Leave a Reply

